Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: Ext Designer, Proxy Server

  1. #11
    Sencha Premium User lorezyra's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Japan -- 千葉
    Posts
    666

    Question HTTP Proxy settings via MS ISA server

    I understand that full proxy configuration is not yet implemented in XDS...

    <begin::rant>
    As a user within a large Enterprise, I can tell you that no security minded company will buy your product if you can't get the security features (i.e. Internet Proxy settings) working... While I am able to use this product at home, I can't work from home all the time. The client-company I'm working at employs a MS ISA server for all internet bound traffic. As such, I can not authenticate my XDS product and illustrate my work. Effectively, this makes the Designer useless in the Enterprise.

    You may want to look at the models that both Sun and Microsoft have used to maintain their profits for so long. They focused their sales on the Enterprises that would pay the most. While the average consumer does contribute to their profits, the bottom line is ultimately driven by large companies that purchase bulk licenses of various products...

    This does not even begin to take in consideration of closed environments where the internet is forbidden for some departments...
    </end::rant>

    My questions is: When can I expect to see full HTTP proxy support (via MS ISA) in XDS?
    Perfection as a goal is a nice idea that can point one in a specific direction. However, since "perfection" is an ever changing (evolving?) and moving target, one must admit that perfection can never be obtained...

    When in doubt, check the d4mn source code!
    ================================================
    And here are my terms...

    1. I don't care if you use my source code. (Known as "Code.")
    2. I don't care if I get any monetary compensation.
    3. I do care to receive credit for Code provided. So, please keep my name in the comments for Code provided.
    4. Code is provided without warranty "AS-IS" and I claim absolutely no warranty nor liability to the quality, security, and run-ability on any platform.
    5. By using Code, you accept all risk inherit with Code regardless if Code has known and yet to be discovered bugs.
    6. You are welcome to change and improve the Code to best meet your needs.
    7. I don't care if you use the Code in a commercial or open-source project.
    8. You are not required to contact me prior to using the Code.

    ================================================
    Simple. Enjoy.

  2. #12
    Sencha User jarrednicholls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,747

    Default

    Hi lorezyra,

    The Designer will function without any internet connection whatsoever. Like any other piece of software, there are ramifications to this: 1) no auto-updates, and 2) manual license registration. We are able to get the software running in a closed environment or one where the network utilizes NTLMv2 proxies (which is basically only ISA server). The limitation is within the networking stack of the Qt library, which was chosen for its superior cross-platform capabilities and its built-in WebKit browser integration, among many other things. However, we weren't aware of its lack of NTLMv2 authentication support in its proxy implementation when we made this choice - though, it wouldn't have changed our decision even so.

    While we will eventually support NTLMv2 natively, I have no ETA for that. But in the meantime, we can get your software running for you, or you can install a local NTLMv2-compatible proxy server on your computer, and point the Designer to the local proxy. See the first post of this thread for a list of a couple of proxy servers you can use. Either way, you CAN run the software at your client company's site. You can contact me at jarred [at] sencha.com and I will assist you further to get you up and running.

  3. #13
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    9

    Default

    Can you change Ext's application theme while designing it in Ext Designer?

    Right now it's blue and I'd rather have my custom one (for various reasons).

    Thank you.

  4. #14
    Sencha User jarrednicholls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,747

    Default

    At this time no, but it's a feature we want to add in a future release.

  5. #15

    Default

    OK, so I am in a proxy environment, and my company will not give me the proxy info. The only way I can authenticate is to bring my desktop into the server room, connect it to the dsl and go through the authentication. Only problem is, when I reboot my computer, I get asked to authenticate again. I cannot use the software!

    Work around please??

  6. #16
    Sencha User jarrednicholls's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Frederick, MD
    Posts
    1,747

    Default

    ketkoota,

    Have you already activated the software? If so, it can run offline...you just need to login one time, technically. We also have instructions here on how to update the software manually, which is always up to date for the latest release at the time.

    With that said, have you tried installing a local proxy server that will automatically route to your company's proxy server, and then point the Designer to it? I also am surprised that your company won't give you the proxy information...how do they expect you to do anything? :-) If your machine is configured for the proxy in other software, e.g., your web browser, can you get the proxy information from there?

  7. #17

    Default

    Thanks aconran for the getting started guide. That worked up for me.

  8. #18

    Default Proxy Server

    the mannual proxy is worked for me .can anyone tell me which proxy server is the best ?

  9. #19
    Sencha User bereal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Geneva, Switzerland
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Just install Ext Designer 1.1.2 and cannot even start it in Trial (Demo) mode.

    I am behind corporate proxy which is set up in Internet Options.

    I tried all possible settings in Proxy SetUp of Ext Designer, but I always get error: "Unable to communicate with Ext Designer license server."

    Any ideas?
    Ext JS + Adobe AIR solutions

  10. #20
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bereal View Post
    Just install Ext Designer 1.1.2 and cannot even start it in Trial (Demo) mode.

    I am behind corporate proxy which is set up in Internet Options.

    I tried all possible settings in Proxy SetUp of Ext Designer, but I always get error: "Unable to communicate with Ext Designer license server."

    Any ideas?
    Same problem!! :-(
    I've sent an email to designer.feedback [at] sencha.com but without results!

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 18 May 2010, 4:22 AM
  2. [FIXED-21] Ext Designer and proxy server
    By hempslayer in forum Ext Designer: Bugs
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 23 Mar 2010, 10:26 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 25 Feb 2008, 2:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •