Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: 3.1.1 - Combo List z index

  1. #1
    Sencha User TopKatz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    340

    Default 3.1.1 - Combo List z index

    Since upgrading to 3.1.1 most of my combos are having issues with there z index. Its typically when I have a combo in a window. The list will appear behind the window, and make the list not visible to the user.

    I saw this post:

    http://www.extjs.com/forum/showthread.php?t=91781

    However there is no override or fix available in the thread. This is a large issue in my app right now. Maybe someone can post one for this bug for those of us that do not have svn access.

  2. #2

    Default

    I'm having a similar problem here.

    One particular combo is inside a formPanel, which is inside a tabPanel, which is inside a window. The first time I load the form, the z-index of the combo's list is fine. If I load the form subsequent times, the z-index is still fine. However, once I save the form, the list's z-index no longer works properly.

    Using firebug I can see that the list is behind the window. I tried manually editing the source (using Firebug) and set the z-index to 20000 and suddenly the list was viewable (and was on top as it should be).

    I was unable to find much information about what's goin on here. This seems like a bug to me, because this was not happening in ext-3.0.0 (AFAIK).

    In the meantime I've hacked up the ext-all.js file to always instantiate the combo's list with zindex: 12000 and this works as a temporary solution

    You can search ext-all.js for the number 12000 ... it only occurs in a few places. Replace (b||12000)+5 with 12000 and it should work for you until there is an official fix.

  3. #3
    Sencha User Animal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Bédoin/Nottingham
    Posts
    30,890

    Default

    http://www.extjs.com/deploy/dev/docs...getListParent()

    Poke a implementation in. By default it returns document.body. Make it return what's best for you.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Animal View Post
    http://www.extjs.com/deploy/dev/docs/?class=Ext.form.ComboBox&member=getListParent()

    Poke a implementation in. By default it returns document.body. Make it return what's best for you.
    I guess I don't quite understand why document.body isn't a correct parent element for the list. I don't want any special behavior: I just want the list to always render at the correct z-index (this used to work).

  5. #5

  6. #6
    Sencha User Animal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Bédoin/Nottingham
    Posts
    30,890

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by astor View Post
    I guess I don't quite understand why document.body isn't a correct parent element for the list. I don't want any special behavior: I just want the list to always render at the correct z-index (this used to work).

    Well it's inside a Window isn't it? So I thought it might be better to render it to the Window. Then there'll be no z-index issues.

  7. #7
    Sencha User TopKatz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    340

    Default

    What Animal is pointing out is a good way to fix a single combo. Problem is I was seeing this in the bulk of mine, so that would be very tedious.

    This issue is actually fixed out in svn, so I have tried to avoid applying the getListParent stuff to all my combos that are in windows.

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Animal View Post
    Well it's inside a Window isn't it? So I thought it might be better to render it to the Window. Then there'll be no z-index issues.
    Hmm, perhaps, but then I would have to do a specific implementation of that on every combo that exhibited the problem and then verify that it actually fixes the problem. That would take a very long time in my app, as it is spread over many pages and has many combos.

    Am I correct in understanding that this issue is fixed in 3.1.2?
    Quote Originally Posted by TopKatz View Post
    What Animal is pointing out is a good way to fix a single combo. Problem is I was seeing this in the bulk of mine, so that would be very tedious.

    This issue is actually fixed out in svn, so I have tried to avoid applying the getListParent stuff to all my combos that are in windows.
    Ok. I'm gonna just leave my z-index hack in there if this is fixed in svn. When 3.1.2 becomes publicly available, I'll update stop using the copy with the hack.

  9. #9
    Sencha User TopKatz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    340

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by astor View Post
    ...Am I correct in understanding that this issue is fixed in 3.1.2?
    I can not say. I know its fixed in svn, but what gets released in 3.1.2 I dont know.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •