Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: debug console not working

  1. #1
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    48

    Default debug console not working

    Hi,

    I am including ext-all-debug.js (also ext-base-debug.js) with my application. However, when I hit ctrl+shift+home the debug console does not appear. If I hit that key combo on this page http://www.extjs.com/deploy/ext/exam...g-console.html, the debug console appears. Any ideas?

    Thanks,

    Michael

  2. #2
    Sencha User aw1zard2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    589

    Default

    In the examples folder look at the debug folder in that look at debug-console.html and debug.js.

    ext-all-debug.js is only used to read the source code and set breakpoints if using firebug or IE developer toolbar.

    Last edited by aw1zard2; 20 Nov 2009 at 12:16 PM. Reason: corrected debug-console.html filename

  3. #3
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Is this a simple fix or do I have to a lot of digging around in the code? I haven't made any changes to any of the debug sources, why doesn't the panel launch. It's kind of frustrating, because this seems like a feature that may be helpful, but in order to use it, I have to take a detour from my regular work and go digging around in a rather lengthy and cryptic piece of code that I am not altogether familiar with. Even if I succeed, it may be the case that the debug console is not so helpful to me. But I would have wasted a lot of time. OK, I will grant that I would have learned a lot more about extJS, but I'm going to learn that anyway no matter what I do.

  4. #4
    Sencha User aw1zard2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    589

    Default

    Just include debug.js after ext-all.js in your main html file.

    I believe debug.js handles the keystrokes also besides the main debug window.


  5. #5
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Thanks for your help, but that isn't working. Below is my include statement. Including debug.js does not help. Also, I'm looking at http://www.extjs.com/deploy/ext/examples/debug/debug-console.html, and they don't include debug.js, either.
    Code:
    <link href="/resource/1254110959000/ext3_0_0/resources/css/ext-all.css" rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" />
    
    <script src="/resource/1254110959000/ext3_0_0/adapter/ext/ext-base-debug.js" type="text/javascript"></script> 
    
    <script src="/resource/1254110959000/ext3_0_0/ext-all-debug.js" type="text/javascript"></script> 
    <script src="/resource/1254110959000/ext3_0_0/examples/debug/debug.js" type="text/javascript"></script>

  6. #6
    Sencha User aw1zard2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    589

    Default

    Hmm the examples one from the Ext-JS download uses the debug.js and it works for me.

    One thing they are using and your not is they don't have ext-base-debug.js loading they just have ext-base.js. Have you tried that?

    Other then that try a small sample to see if it loads for you. If not paste the code your using here so we can test what your doing on our own machines.


  7. #7
    Sencha User aw1zard2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    589

    Default

    Looking at the source the examples folder ones do not use the keystrokes like the online one does.

    You have to click the picture which is defined like this.

    PHP Code:
    <a href="#" onclick="Ext.log('Hello from the Ext console. This is logged using the Ext.log function.');return false;"><img src="debug.png" style="margin:15px;"/></a
    Calling Ext.log with text brings up the console on the screen.


    Calling Ext.log(); from firebug made the console appear.

  8. #8
    Sencha User aw1zard2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    589

    Default

    The url you posted points to Ext-JS 1.1.1 not Ext-JS 3+. So that is why it is not working for you if your using ExtJS 3+.


  9. #9
    Touch Premium Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Thanks a lot! Calling Ext.log() from the command line launches the debug console.

    I have to say, while ExtJS is an amazing framework, the documentation is really awful. I always find myself on a wild-goose chase. Why hasn't that page documenting the debug feature been updated? How long ago was ExtJS1.1.1? There is nothing to indicate that the information is for an old version. That's really, really bad. There should at least be a note on the page indicating that this is deprecated code. Sorry to be so critical, but it's a real problem that should be addressed.

    Thanks again for your help.

  10. #10
    Sencha User aw1zard2's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Dallas, Texas
    Posts
    589

    Default

    It has goto http://www.extjs.com/deploy/dev/examples/debug/debug-console.html

    In your url it is deploy/ext the current one is deploy/dev.

    Next time use the menu from the main extjs.com website to see the sample code or use the examples folder from your http server.


Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •