Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: [CLOSED][3.0rc1] IE and Window.show (not setting a width)

    Thank you for reporting this bug. We will make it our priority to review this report.
  1. #1
    Ext JS Premium Member stever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,408

    Default [CLOSED] [3.0rc1] IE and Window.show (not setting a width)

    Try this on both IE7 (or IE8 in compatibility mode) and Firefox:

    Code:
    new Ext.Window({title:'test', items:{height:40},buttons:[{text:'t1'},{text:'t2'}]}).show()
    In IE7, the width expands to the width of the browser.

  2. #2
    Sencha Premium User dawesi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Melbourne, Australia (aka GMT+10)
    Posts
    1,246

    Default

    try this:

    Code:
    bob = new Ext.Window({title:'test', items:{height:40},buttons:[{text:'t1'},{text:'t2'}]});
    bob.show();
    that way you're showing the new object, not the singleton.
    Cloud Application Architect

    Sencha Specialist / Sencha MVP / Sencha Technical Trainer
    ExtJs Developer + Contributor since 0.2.2 - Champion of the per developer license.

  3. #3
    Sencha Premium User evant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    19,258

    Default

    You need to specify a width. "auto" width doesn't work correctly in IE.
    Twitter - @evantrimboli
    Former Sencha framework engineer, available for consulting.
    As of 2017-09-22 I am not employed by Sencha, all subsequent posts are my own and do not represent Sencha in any way.

  4. #4
    Ext JS Premium Member stever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,408

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evant View Post
    You need to specify a width. "auto" width doesn't work correctly in IE.
    Eewww... I have a floating toolbar window, and I won't know the width since it depends on what is in it.

  5. #5
    Ext JS Premium Member stever's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    1,408

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by evant View Post
    You need to specify a width. "auto" width doesn't work correctly in IE.
    Isn't this where Ext comes in and saves the day by making browsers work similarly?

  6. #6
    Sencha User Condor's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    24,245

    Default

    Unfortunately, no.

    autoWidth:true is entirely based on the browser determining the width of the inner elements and the component adjusting to that.
    In IE, if the container is position:absolute (like a window) and the element is float:right (like the close button), it is postioned at the right side of the browser and the window will adjust the size of the window to that.

    The window will look good if you don't use any float:right elements (right-aligned buttons or tools). You can howerver add these after the window has already rendered.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •