Thread: Coding a DD turn-based game using Ext

Ext User

Default Coding a DD turn-based game using Ext

I was actually in the process of writing a thread for the help group but as I was typing in the description of the problem I was able to see the solution. So I thought that I would at least introduce myself instead.

I am new to Ext and somewhat new to JS. I have been a Java developer for nearly 10 years and have tweaked JS/CSS for different projects, but this is my first attempt at a full blown JS application. I have looked at the different libraries (Dojo, YUI, MooTools, and a few others) but really like the flexibility and extensibility of Ext.

I have the simple mechanics of the game working (initializing the board, dragging pieces, validating movement, etc) and am now getting into more complex design - ajax, working with validation on the server-end, and then AI. I am sure that I will be posting questions or lessons learned soon.

Sencha User

Quote Originally Posted by anotherhale View Post
    I was actually in the process of writing a thread for the help group but as I was typing in the description of the problem I was able to see the solution.
    That's often the way. Once you start to analyze things and serialize them into a narrative, you see where you go wrong. Anyway, well done on figuring out this complex area of Ext.

Quote Originally Posted by anotherhale View Post
    So I thought that I would at least introduce myself instead.

I am new to Ext and somewhat new to JS. I have been a Java developer for nearly 10 years and have tweaked JS/CSS for different projects, but this is my first attempt at a full blown JS application. I have looked at the different libraries (Dojo, YUI, MooTools, and a few others) but really like the flexibility and extensibility of Ext.