Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Eclipse Sencha Plugin : autocomplete not working

  1. #1
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    44
    Answers
    4

    Default Answered: Eclipse Sencha Plugin : autocomplete not working

    Hello,

    I've installed the eclipse sencha plugin but the auto-complete doesn't work. I've verified that I've installed the plugin correctly.

    Are the plugin features available for a pure sencha app only?

    Also, in the Eclipse > Preferences > Sencha, I see the following:

    'Sencha Backend Version: Not Installed'

    What does that mean?

    Thanks,

  2. Quote Originally Posted by udayp View Post
    I've installed the eclipse sencha plugin but the auto-complete doesn't work. I've verified that I've installed the plugin correctly.

    Are the plugin features available for a pure sencha app only?

    Also, in the Eclipse > Preferences > Sencha, I see the following:

    'Sencha Backend Version: Not Installed'

    What does that mean?
    We use a separate background process which indexes your JavaScript source. This gets automatically installed and run when you open a project with the Sencha Nature

    Have you created a new Sencha Application, or added the Sencha Nature to an existing application? If not, try that, and you should see the "Indexing..." dialog appear after you generate an app, or add the Sencha Nature.

    Once this has occurred, you should be able to see an appropriate Sencha Backend Version in your Sencha preferences, and autocomplete should then work.

    Please check our guide if you haven't, it will help you with the Sencha Nature or new App Generation if needed.

  3. #2
    Sencha - Dev Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    147
    Answers
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by udayp View Post
    I've installed the eclipse sencha plugin but the auto-complete doesn't work. I've verified that I've installed the plugin correctly.

    Are the plugin features available for a pure sencha app only?

    Also, in the Eclipse > Preferences > Sencha, I see the following:

    'Sencha Backend Version: Not Installed'

    What does that mean?
    We use a separate background process which indexes your JavaScript source. This gets automatically installed and run when you open a project with the Sencha Nature

    Have you created a new Sencha Application, or added the Sencha Nature to an existing application? If not, try that, and you should see the "Indexing..." dialog appear after you generate an app, or add the Sencha Nature.

    Once this has occurred, you should be able to see an appropriate Sencha Backend Version in your Sencha preferences, and autocomplete should then work.

    Please check our guide if you haven't, it will help you with the Sencha Nature or new App Generation if needed.

  4. #3
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2015
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    114
    Answers
    3

    Exclamation Qs

    1. I don't understand how come "create new Sencha Application" and "create new Sencha workspace" both appear when you right-click and then choose New, but "create new JS file isn't". I still have to create a new file with the old "File" option and name my file with the .js extension to start a new Ext Js file.

    2. Autocomplete doesn't work for me either. When trying to autocomplete with Ctrl + Space this is what I'm getting (JPG)

    bug.JPG

  5. #4
    Sencha - Dev Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    147
    Answers
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dolev View Post
    1. I don't understand how come "create new Sencha Application" and "create new Sencha workspace" both appear when you right-click and then choose New, but "create new JS file isn't". I still have to create a new file with the old "File" option and name my file with the .js extension to start a new Ext Js file.
    Our plugin adds the New Ext JS App and Workspace items to the right-click context menu, but the "New JS File" isn't ours, it's part of Eclipse, or perhaps the JSDT.

    Do you see the "New Ext JS Class" menu option in your right click menu, or maybe that's what you meant? Sometimes it depends on what perspective you are in, as well as what folder/resource you're clicking on in the Project Explorer. Can you provide any more details there?

    Quote Originally Posted by dolev View Post
    2. Autocomplete doesn't work for me either. When trying to autocomplete with Ctrl + Space this is what I'm getting (JPG)

    bug.JPG
    That's a separate autocompletion 'computer' that's not part of the Sencha plugin. You can click on the 'content assist' preference page from the link in that dialog, and uncheck/disable the Template Proposals. You can also get here from Preferences -> JavaScript -> Editor -> Content Assist -> Advanced.

  6. #5
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    44
    Answers
    4

    Default

    I added Sencha Nature and made sure the Content Assist settings are present.

    I'm getting the following stack in a popup when it tries to index:

    HTML Code:
    Sencha Ext JS autocompletion will be disabled
    
    TypeError: Object #<Object> has no method 'createUrl'
        at Object.Extractor.addEvent (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/plugin/ext/lib/extract.js.jx:891:23)
        at Object.Extractor.addFromComment (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/plugin/ext/lib/extract.js.jx:728:32)
        at Object.<anonymous> (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/plugin/ext/lib/extract.js.jx:689:49)
        at Array.forEach (native)
        at Object.<anonymous> (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/plugin/ext/lib/extract.js.jx:687:46)
        at c (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:38:16)
        at Object.skipThrough (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:167:3)
        at c (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:37:15)
        at Object.base.MemberExpression (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:333:3)
        at c (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:37:15)

  7. #6
    Sencha - Dev Team
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    147
    Answers
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by udayp View Post
    I added Sencha Nature and made sure the Content Assist settings are present.

    I'm getting the following stack in a popup when it tries to index:

    HTML Code:
    Sencha Ext JS autocompletion will be disabled
    
    TypeError: Object #<Object> has no method 'createUrl'
        at Object.Extractor.addEvent (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/plugin/ext/lib/extract.js.jx:891:23)
        at Object.Extractor.addFromComment (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/plugin/ext/lib/extract.js.jx:728:32)
        at Object.<anonymous> (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/plugin/ext/lib/extract.js.jx:689:49)
        at Array.forEach (native)
        at Object.<anonymous> (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/plugin/ext/lib/extract.js.jx:687:46)
        at c (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:38:16)
        at Object.skipThrough (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:167:3)
        at c (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:37:15)
        at Object.base.MemberExpression (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:333:3)
        at c (/Sencha/EclipsePlugin/node_modules/acorn/dist/walk.js.jx:37:15)

    What OS/Architecture, and which Sencha SDK version you are seeing?

    Since you said you added the Sencha Nature, I'm assuming this is an existing Ext JS App that you had previously, which wasn't generated through the Eclipse

    Do you have any non-Ext JS based JavaScript files?

    Are you able to take a screenshot of the application folder structure, and explain where the Ext SDK is in relation?

  8. #7
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Sep 2015
    Posts
    44
    Answers
    4

    Default

    Oh I see, it does have something to do with my existing structure which is enterprise application with sencha ext js 6 as the front end.

    I created a new Sencha project and it worked fine.

Similar Threads

  1. Plugin Sencha for eclipse
    By gaiapuffo in forum Ext: Discussion
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16 Feb 2016, 4:25 AM
  2. Eclipse Plugin not working?
    By cswsteve in forum Sencha Ext JS Q&A
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 30 Aug 2013, 11:14 AM
  3. Sencha GXT Eclipse plugin
    By dato.java in forum Sencha GXT Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25 Nov 2012, 11:15 PM
  4. Can't install the Sencha Eclipse Plugin
    By quamat in forum Ext: Q&A
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17 Sep 2012, 9:01 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •