Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Indexing whenever workspace is loaded

    Success! Looks like we've fixed this one. According to our records the fix was applied for ECP-101 in 6.0.0 GA.
  1. #1
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    459
    Answers
    19

    Default Answered: Indexing whenever workspace is loaded

    I've noticed a fairly lengthy indexing operation happen every time I open a workspace for a Sencha app. It seems like this should just be done once or at least be quicker when loading an existing workspace?

  2. Quote Originally Posted by firefoxSafari View Post
    jdk1.7.0_79
    Thanks, I was able to recreate it in Windows 7 with Java 1.8. It is not an issue for me in Linux or OSX.

    I'll open a ticket so we can make sure the process is properly shutdown and the cache gets updated.

  3. #2
    Sencha - Dev Team Chris.OBrien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    147
    Answers
    51

    Default

    The first time a project is created and opened, the indexing will take longer since it is parsing all of your files, as well as the SDK, and creating a local index cache.

    Any time a project or workspace is opened after a cache already exists, we still have to load the cache, but not parse the files, so it should be quicker than the first indexing. All this depends on the size of your project, machine, etc.

  4. #3
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guatemala, Central America
    Posts
    1,501
    Answers
    13

    Default

    Mmmm...

    Any chances that you may have pre-indexed the sdk and index only the app's files?

    I have a decent laptop (i5 / 12G RAM / SDD) and take a lot of time.

    Regards.
    UI: Sencha Architect / ExtJS 4 - 6
    Server side: JEE / EJB 3.x / CDI / JPA 2.x/ JAX-RS / JasperReports
    Application Server: WildFly / Weblogic
    Databases: Oracle
    / MySQL / DB2 / Firebird

    If you like my answer please vote!

  5. #4
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    459
    Answers
    19

    Default

    I'm on desktop with i7 and 16 GB and still seems rather slow. Don't notice that it's that much faster when opening the workspace versus just creating a new project. This is just for the base project generated from new Ext JS App Project - haven't added any custom code.

  6. #5
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    7

    Default Same issue

    I created an application which then builds and the progress tab shows "Sencha indexing PROJECTNAME". After chugging away for several minutes it stopped at 66% and never finished (I left it running for an hour and a half to make sure... CPU maxing, fans running like jet engines, etc).

    I shutdown Zend Studio and re-launched it. The project brought up "Sencha indexing PROJECTNAME" again in the Progress tab, which took roughly the same amount of time it took before to make it to 66%, where it promptly stops progressing but keeps running the CPU high.

  7. #6
    Sencha - Dev Team Chris.OBrien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    147
    Answers
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bholyoak View Post
    I created an application which then builds and the progress tab shows "Sencha indexing PROJECTNAME". After chugging away for several minutes it stopped at 66% and never finished (I left it running for an hour and a half to make sure... CPU maxing, fans running like jet engines, etc).

    I shutdown Zend Studio and re-launched it. The project brought up "Sencha indexing PROJECTNAME" again in the Progress tab, which took roughly the same amount of time it took before to make it to 66%, where it promptly stops progressing but keeps running the CPU high.
    What happens if you try to cancel it when it is stuck?

    Can you go to the Eclipse Preferences, select Sencha from the left, and then click the checkbox to enable debug logging?

    Then, try to reopen the project, and when it gets stuck at 66%, open up your workspace's .metadata/.log file. Can you please send me a PM with the last page or so of the log?

  8. #7
    Sencha - Dev Team Chris.OBrien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    147
    Answers
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by firefoxSafari View Post
    I'm on desktop with i7 and 16 GB and still seems rather slow. Don't notice that it's that much faster when opening the workspace versus just creating a new project. This is just for the base project generated from new Ext JS App Project - haven't added any custom code.
    Quote Originally Posted by ssamayoa View Post
    I have a decent laptop (i5 / 12G RAM / SDD) and take a lot of time.
    Just to get a feel for it, how long are you two saying it's taking? 2 minutes? 10 minutes?

    What OS and architecture are your machines?

  9. #8
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    459
    Answers
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Chris.OBrien View Post
    Just to get a feel for it, how long are you two saying it's taking? 2 minutes? 10 minutes?

    What OS and architecture are your machines?
    I'm on Windows 7 64 bit i7 16 GB.

    There's some variance, but the indexing dialog is up for between 45-60 seconds when I load a workspace. I've timed how long it's up during new project creation, and it appears to be about the same. That's why I question whether the optimization to not index as much on the second pass is working.

  10. #9
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Guatemala, Central America
    Posts
    1,501
    Answers
    13

    Default

    Create new Ext App Project:
    - Generating: 24s, comprehensible because copies the whole SDK.
    - Indexing: ~1 minute

    Open eclipse's workspace containing Sencha project:
    - Indexing: ~5s

    Note that I have an SSD, lot of RAM and linux uses that RAM for cache.

    @firefoxSafari:
    Do you have a conventional HDD or SSD?
    UI: Sencha Architect / ExtJS 4 - 6
    Server side: JEE / EJB 3.x / CDI / JPA 2.x/ JAX-RS / JasperReports
    Application Server: WildFly / Weblogic
    Databases: Oracle
    / MySQL / DB2 / Firebird

    If you like my answer please vote!

  11. #10
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    459
    Answers
    19

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ssamayoa View Post
    Note that I have an SSD, lot of RAM and linux uses that RAM for cache.

    @firefoxSafari:
    Do you have a conventional HDD or SSD?
    Machine I'm trying this on is conventional HDD, not SSD.

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19 Nov 2014, 2:11 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6 Dec 2013, 1:53 PM
  3. Google indexing
    By Nylren in forum Ext 3.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 6 Mar 2011, 8:34 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •