Results 1 to 4 of 4

Thread: Can't see javascript code in the chrome debugger anymore

  1. #1
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Saint Louis
    Posts
    118
    Answers
    6

    Default Can't see javascript code in the chrome debugger anymore

    While working in the chrome dev tools while debugging a fiddle I found that I can no longer see the javascript code I'm debugging.

    This happened after I toggled the "Deactivate Breakpoints" button in the tools. When I turned off breakpoints the code ran through without stopping even though I had the debugger keyword in the code.

    I toggled the deactivate button back to on and now chrome will stop at the debugger keyword, but the javascript no longer shows.

    Screen Shot 2015-07-22 at 10.46.51 AM.jpg

    I've tried the following to fix it with no success:
    - Refreshing the tab
    - Closing the tab and opening a new one
    - Closing the window and opening a new one
    - Closing chrome and opening it back up
    - Restoring a previous version of my chrome Application Support folder

    I've also confirmed that the same fiddle will show the code at the breakpoint on a different computer.

    Is there a way to fix this? It makes debugging in fiddle a lot harder.

  2. #2
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,379
    Answers
    3997

    Default

    This isn't fiddle's issue, this is the browser. Fiddle recreates the HTML that it then dumps into the <iframe> which the browser then evaluates the code.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Posts are my own, not any current, past or future employer's.

  3. #3
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Saint Louis
    Posts
    118
    Answers
    6

    Default

    Understood. I didn't think it was a problem with fiddle since it worked on a different computer. I was asking mostly to see if someone has any insight on how to fix the browser problem.

  4. #4
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    Saint Louis
    Posts
    118
    Answers
    6

    Default Solution

    Just incase anyone runs into this issue in the future, I resolved it by trashing:

    - The chrome app
    - The chrome application support folder in my user library: `~/Library/Application Support/Google/Chrome/`
    - The google preferences in my user library: `~/Library/Preferences/com.google....`
    - Note: you only need to trash the one for chrome

    After that I downloaded a new copy of chrome, tested out the fiddle, and the debugger showed up as before.

    You may be able to pinpoint where the problem is coming from by trashing the items one at a time starting with the chrome app.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15 Apr 2015, 10:38 AM
  2. Chrome Debugger vs Huge Single File With Entire Library
    By markbjerke in forum Ext: Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 8 Mar 2012, 4:33 PM
  3. Replies: 15
    Last Post: 11 May 2010, 8:07 AM
  4. Chrome Debugger
    By deanna in forum Community Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 7 Aug 2009, 5:42 AM
  5. Finally! A JavaScript Debugger for Internet Explorer!
    By jcwatson11 in forum Ext 1.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15 Oct 2007, 2:06 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •