Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Sencha Touch 2.4 Carousels aren't working in Electron Atom app.

    Looks like we can't reproduce the issue or there's a problem in the test case provided.
  1. #1

    Default Sencha Touch 2.4 Carousels aren't working in Electron Atom app.

    I've been working on trying to find a way to package a sencha touch app into a desktop app. So far, Electron has given me the best results of any of the other candidates. Unfortunately, I'm finding that the carousels are not working well/at all; at least not in the OSX version. Has anyone else tried running sencha in Electron and have they found a solution to this issue?

    Electron GitHub: https://github.com/atom/electron/releases

  2. #2
    Sencha Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Antioch, IL
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    So we'll need to do a bit of debugging around this... Electron is literally the latest version of Chrome (43, assuming you're running the latest version of Electron) so it's possible you have simply run into one of the known bugs Sencha Touch has with Chrome 43:
    - https://www.sencha.com/forum/announcement.php?f=92&a=58

    If that doesn't help, perhaps you can post some sample code for the carousel that's working in Chrome but not inside Electron.

  3. #3

    Default

    I'm not sure how those bugs directly relate to the carousel (although they may). I did some further testing and found that the carousels do indeed work fine in safari but not in chrome. Here is a fiddle of code that exhibits that behavior:

    https://fiddle.sencha.com/#fiddle/pfb

  4. #4
    Sencha Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Antioch, IL
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    So if you add the following overrides (directly from the post I linked) above the Ext.application() call in your Fiddle:
    Code:
    Ext.define('Override.util.PaintMonitor', {
        override : 'Ext.util.PaintMonitor',
    
        constructor : function(config) {
            return new Ext.util.paintmonitor.CssAnimation(config);
        }
    });
    
    Ext.define('Override.util.SizeMonitor', {
        override : 'Ext.util.SizeMonitor',
    
        constructor : function(config) {
            var namespace = Ext.util.sizemonitor;
    
            if (Ext.browser.is.Firefox) {
                return new namespace.OverflowChange(config);
            } else if (Ext.browser.is.WebKit || Ext.browser.is.IE11) {
                return new namespace.Scroll(config);
            } else {
                return new namespace.Default(config);
            }
        }
    });
    ...you'll find that the example now works in Chrome

    Presumably this will also fix the problem for you inside Electron.

  5. #5

    Default

    Thanks for the tip! That definitely worked for the fiddle. Now I've got to figure out why it is killing my app. It won't get past the loading screen now.

  6. #6
    Sencha Developer
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Antioch, IL
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    I would try opening up the debugging tools for Electron - maybe you're hitting a network or JS error:
    - http://electron.atom.io/docs/v0.28.0...-main-process/

  7. #7
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,379

    Default

    You may want to explore updating to Touch 2.4.2 that was released with these bug fixes in place.
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Posts are my own, not any current, past or future employer's.

  8. #8

    Default

    I can confirm that Touch 2.4.2 solved the problem. The carousels are now working properly within Atom Electron. Random thought: it would be cool if the sencha cmd had a built in method for outputting a desktop version using electron; but I realize that's a pipe dream. Thanks for the help!

  9. #9
    Sencha Premium User mitchellsimoens's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Gainesville, FL
    Posts
    40,379
    Mitchell Simoens @LikelyMitch

    Check out my GitHub:
    https://github.com/mitchellsimoens

    Posts are my own, not any current, past or future employer's.

Similar Threads

  1. [NOREPRO] Sencha touch chart interactions not working in sencha touch 2.3.1
    By abhi.srinu in forum Sencha Touch 2.x: Bugs
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 26 Feb 2014, 6:20 AM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 2 Jun 2013, 6:57 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15 Feb 2012, 12:45 AM
  4. [INFOREQ] Whats up with Sencha Touch Carousels and Orientation issues?
    By javismiles in forum Sencha Touch 1.x: Bugs
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 5 Oct 2011, 2:20 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •