Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: "overHeader.isOnLeftEdge is not a function" after calling grid.reconfigure()

    Success! Looks like we've fixed this one. According to our records the fix was applied for a bug in our system in a recent build.
  1. #1
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    317

    Default "overHeader.isOnLeftEdge is not a function" after calling grid.reconfigure()

    I have a dynamic grid that I configure using the reconfigure() function. After the grid is re-rendered, I see this error in the console every time I mouse over the grid headers -

    overHeader.isOnLeftEdge is not a function (in ext-all-debug.js line 78964)
    I don't see the problem when I mouse over the original grid headers.

  2. #2
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    317

    Default

    Bump?

    As we plan to use dynamic grids quite extensively in our application, this is a big problem for us...

  3. #3
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    79

    Default

    I'm suffering from the same problem....

  4. #4

    Default

    I'm having this problem too. I had to manually register the new columns with Ext.ComponentManager in order for this to work. Reconfiguring with new columns does not register them and a call to Ext.getCmp is failing, which is the root cause.

  5. #5
    Sencha Premium Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    317

    Default

    I made some change to my grid a while back and the problem went away, but now I don't remember exactly what I changed.

    If you post your grid definition code, it might ring a bell...

  6. #6
    Sencha User dongryphon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,748

    Default

    Please post a simple example that recreates the problem. That is the only way we can be sure we are looking at the right thing.
    Don Griffin

    "Use the source, Luke!"

  7. #7

    Default

    Here is what is causing my errors:

    Code:
    		var c = Ext.clone(this.columns);
    		this.reconfigure(this.store, c);
    I'm not sure whether clone should be registering the columns object or if reconfigure should be doing it, but doing this in the initComponent of a grid will cause javascript errors to be thrown when mousing over column headers. The workaround I am using is to manually register each column with the ComponentManager immediately after calling this.reconfigure.

  8. #8
    Sencha User dongryphon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    1,748

    Default

    Thanks for the extra info! Many times a bug presents itself at one place in the code, but the fix is elsewhere. Off-hand I don't see what is wrong with the snippet you posted, but if you could post a small example program that produces the problem that will be essential in helping us isolate the root cause and a proper fix.

    A good example would be http://www.sencha.com/forum/showthread.php?132409

    Thanks again!
    Don Griffin

    "Use the source, Luke!"

  9. #9
    Sencha Premium User
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    79

    Default

    I found the reason why I was getting the error...

    I have a grid that I am manually creating the Ext.grid.header.Container for... and within it's config, I was adding "resizable:true" to the defaults (ie. to each column header). Once I removed that - then I was no longer able to resize my columns! So I manually added in enableColumnResize: true to my header containers config, and live was happy.

    Code:
    ....
    columns: Ext.create('Ext.grid.header.Container', {
            enableColumnResize: true, // <---- GOOD (and seems to be required when manually creating the header container)!
            defaults: {
                sortable: true,
                hideable: true,
                groupable: true,
                hidden: true/*,
                resizable: true <----- BADD!!! */
            },
            defaultType: 'gridcolumn',
            items: [{
                header: 'Name',
                dataIndex: 'name',
                flex: 1,
                hidden: false
            },
    ....
    If you are curious why I wanted to manually create my header container - its because I have a TON of columns in a particular grid (actually only 10) and I wanted to set default config values on each column...

    Not sure if what I found explains why the other folks are getting the error...

  10. #10
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    3

    Default

    I had the same issue. Got it fixed by removing resizable: true from the columns config (since it defaults to true).

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. GridPanel save collapsed state [Calling "overriden" function]
    By pAq85 in forum Ext 3.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 15 Dec 2010, 4:55 AM
  2. Help me How to add "Edit" and "Delete" function with this set of codes.
    By martinrey in forum Ext Designer: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12 Oct 2010, 7:45 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 21 Apr 2010, 10:06 AM
  4. [RESOLVED][2.2.1] Calling defined function throws a "is not a function" error
    By sam_mooball in forum Ext 2.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 19 Apr 2009, 11:08 PM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 25 Sep 2008, 3:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •