Thread: GXT vs. GWT

Default GXT vs. GWT

Has anyone seen this site: http://gxtvsgwt.appspot.com/ ?

When I ran all the tests GXT was significantly slower in every one.

Any commentary by the developers of GXT? Just curious.

Sencha User

I am not a Sencha developer, though I think the answer lies in the generated markup. GWT components are spartan both in element structure and style sheet rules. They look dull by default but make good building blocks if you have good CSS knowledge. I would say you pay for what you get.

Sencha Premium User

But anyway, the difference is way big.
    I have good expectations for GWT 3. I hope the performance is getting improved in that version.

Regards,
    Michel.

Sencha User

But anyway, the difference is way big.
    But, you can not compare apples to oranges.

GWT ListBox vs GXT ComboBox

GWT Grid vs GXT Grid

By the way, the quality of the native GWT API has been declining, turning into a deprecation minefield. The latest additions (MVP, RequestFactory) bring back the nightmares of EJB 2 were you had to maintain 3-4 different artifacts for a each component. Also their new Data Presentation Widgets are a joke. I wish they would restrain themselves from trying to make complex widgets and APIs.

Sencha User

The latest additions (MVP, RequestFactory) bring back the nightmares of EJB 2 were you had to maintain 3-4 different artifacts for a each component
    Deprecation is only a problem if you want to use the new classes/compilers if you are content to use the old ones, then there is no need to upgrade. But if you choose to upgrade to take advantage of, say, the new layout code, or the new editor code, you must make your code actually fit those new patterns and classes, or they won't work. Try adding a DockLayoutPanel to a RootPanel instead of a RootLayoutPanel, and see how that goes.