Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: GeoTweet example doesn't work with an index.js using a different tab spacing?

  1. #1

    Default GeoTweet example doesn't work with an index.js using a different tab spacing?

    New Sencha Touch user here, and I went through the GeoTweet example on 0.9.3, typing it in manually rather than just using the files in examples/guide. For some weird reason that I can't figure, my typed index.js had a working map, got back Twitter JSON data but had an empty timeline and no refresh button. When I replaced it with index.js from the examples/guide dir, everything worked. I did a diff on the files and there was no significant difference except that the tab spacing (converted to spaces) was 2 in mine and 4 in the working index.js.

    I've attached a zip of the two index.js files -- maybe there's some difference I can't spot?

    Any ideas what might be causing this?
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    Sencha Premium User evant's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Sydney, Australia
    Posts
    19,258

    Default

    Line 12, space between for and the =.
    Line 82, the case on iconCls is wrong.
    Twitter - @evantrimboli
    Former Sencha framework engineer, available for consulting.
    As of 2017-09-22 I am not employed by Sencha, all subsequent posts are my own and do not represent Sencha in any way.

  3. #3

    Default

    Ah, thanks Evan. Obviously these weren't "insignificant differences"! Is there a better way to debug these kind of typos than just doing a visual inspection? In other languages these would be flagged a lot more easily.

  4. #4
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    257

    Question

    While reading thru your script I didn't see where you were fixing the tab spacing ? Could you make some light here ?
    I do not know how you could highlight your errors that Evant previously showed you.

    Thank you !

    gabriel

  5. #5

    Default

    Hi gabriel -- not sure what you're asking? I made the changes that Evan mentioned on my code locally (I didn't update it on this thread?) and that resolved the problem. Personally, I think the real issue is that it's quite hard to debug this kind of problem with Sencha as is; no errors are thrown in the Javascript console. I'm hoping that maybe I just don't know about a better debugger for Sencha that would make it easier to find these errors or that one will come in time.

  6. #6
    Sencha User
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Paris, France
    Posts
    257

    Question spacing tabs

    In a precedent post your were talking about :
    Quote Originally Posted by sonwrecka View Post
    tab spacing (converted to spaces) was 2 in mine and 4 in the working index.js..
    That is what I was asking. Where did you change the space between tabs ?

    Everything is here.

    Thank you for your prompt reply.

Similar Threads

  1. Updating non-active tab panel via refresh doesn't work right
    By ice5nake in forum Ext 2.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 1 Apr 2009, 12:51 PM
  2. Append template to tab doesn't work
    By wurstkuchen in forum Ext 2.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 12 Oct 2008, 10:32 AM
  3. EXT local ext-2.0.2\docs\index.html doesn't quite work
    By magenta placenta in forum Ext 2.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 26 Mar 2008, 7:56 AM
  4. Grid on tab pane, loadMask doesn't work?
    By mykes in forum Ext 2.x: Help & Discussion
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30 Dec 2007, 11:35 AM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •