PDA

View Full Version : Search results not cached



llamerr
17 May 2016, 6:43 AM
Type `panel` (or something else) into search field. Type enter. Wait for ~4 seconds. Search results appeared. Select some result. Find out this is not what you wanted, try check another result. Select search field. Nothing happens. You forced to click enter again and waste another ~4 seconds. Repeat wasting 4 seconds on each search untill you find result you wanted.

mitchellsimoens
17 May 2016, 6:46 AM
We are aware of the search, it's using a database query which isn't efficient. We have plans to incorporate the same search that powers the forum search that can scale very efficiently into fiddle 2.

llamerr
17 May 2016, 7:01 AM
It's good to hear, I just tested forum search and it's really fast, but... How many fiddles are created each day? Does it makes sense to query server each time user search something if results wont change? No query faster than even a fast query.

mitchellsimoens
17 May 2016, 7:08 AM
The current search was just to get a search implemented, we wanted to get back around to it but we've had to readjust with other projects that got prioritized and since it was working it's never been a high priority. But since fiddle 2 is being worked on (there are other projects in flight at the same time like the new support portal) then a search replacement is being scoped.

The forum search is using solr (http://lucene.apache.org/solr/) which will be a lot better and will scale to millions of fiddles. There won't be an issue once we can get moved over, unfortunately the current fiddle is sitting in limbo with a slow search.