PDA

View Full Version : TabPanel listener doesn't seem to be listening

airhole
26 Nov 2007, 6:53 AM
Hi all,

I'm new to both extjs and the site, but having searched the forum I can find nothing to explain the problem I am having. I have a layout based on the Complex example, with a TabPanel. On the first tab I have a click listener that should fire when the tab is clicked, but nothing is happening. Change the type of listener to activate and it works as expected. Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks in advance for your replies

new Ext.TabPanel({
region:'center',
deferredRender:false,
activeTab:0,
items:[{
contentEl:'center1',
title: 'Refresh Messages',
autoScroll:true,
autoLoad:'index.cfm?fuseaction=forum.messages',
listeners: {click : refreshTab}
},{
contentEl:'center2',
title: 'Start New Topic',
autoScroll:true
}]
})

var refreshTab=function(tab){
tab.getUpdater().refresh();};

efege
26 Nov 2007, 7:08 AM
1. You are posting to the 1.x help forum, but you are using 2.0 code. As a general recommendation, choosing the appropriate forum can help you get better/faster answers, and helps others too. :)

2. Panels are components, and components do not respond to mouse events (like click). You must attach those types of listeners to the component's associated Elements, such as header or body.

airhole
26 Nov 2007, 8:04 AM
Apologies efege, if the thread can be moved to the appropriate place I'd appreciate it.

airhole
26 Nov 2007, 2:47 PM
Right, I've been hacking at this for a while and I'm not really getting anywhere. Looking at various forum posts I see what I have to do but can't quite put it together.

So TabPanel is a component, and what I need to do is refresh the contents of the body of this component. I realise I can do this using something like tab.body.refresh(). What I'm having trouble with is setting up an event handler to catch the click event.

I have this:

tabPanel.getComponent('refresh_messages').body.on("click", refreshTab,this);

and this